NEW GCSE Mathematics for examination from 2017


Subject content

1) Numbers

2) Algebra

3) Ratio, proportion and rates of change

4 ) Geometry and measures

5) Probability

6) Statistics



GCSE Mathematics has a Foundation tier (grades 1 – 5) and a Higher tier (grades 4 – 9). Students must take three question papers at the same tier.   All question papers must be taken in the same series.

Three written papers, each paper is 1 hour 30 minutes, which assess content from any part of the specification.  Each paper will contribute one third of the students final mark, one paper will be non-calculator.  The three papers will consist of a  mix of question styles, from short, single-mark questions to multi-step problems. The mathematical demand increases as a student progresses through the paper.


Current GCSE Maths for examination until 2016

We're currently offering the following two specifications for those not studying the new curriculum above.

Higher tier (grades A*-D) - Edexcel GCSE Mathematics A (1MA0) -

Foundation tier (grades  C-G) - OCR GCSE Mathematics B (J567) -


Please contact the school to discuss which tier is most suitable for your family.


Mr Chris Britton

Maths Co-ordinator